Every day, there seems to be a news story about social media or technology that makes us think the future is starting to look very Black Mirror-y.
I mean, yeah, obviously I’m being massively, massively dramatic, but some of the stuff that happens on Charlie Brooker’s show could happen soon (or already has) if things carry on the way they’re going.
And the reason I’m saying that today is the latest feature that’s been installed on Instagram, which has been brought to our attention by Twitter-er, Kelly Prince-Wright.
You can now see when someone was last using Instagram. And more importantly, other people can see when YOU were last using Instagram. Stressful, eh?
This feature only shows up in the direct message section of the social media site, so you can only see when someone you’ve previously messaged was on the site.
This feature has pretty much always been active on Facebook Messenger and WhatsApp, but we could really do without it on another app.
But the good news is, you can actually turn it off. It’s default setting is ‘on’, but simply turn it off in the ‘Show Activity Status’ option in Instagram’s settings. But if you disable activity status for yourself, you won’t be able to see that info for anyone else.